Nehru Family Alikes - Criminal Politicians

Incomplete list of politicians facing criminal cases in 12 Indian states

Most of the 1,581 cases in the list of the government relate to rioting, unlawful assembly, murder and attempt to murder.


Gouri Shanker Bishen, BJP MLA: Minister in Shivraj Singh Chouhan government; charged in 2008 for bribery. Case last heard in May 2015.

Ramakant Tiwari, BJP MLA: Charges of house trespass, voluntarily causing hurt to deter public servant from his duty, etc. Charges framed; case last heard in April 2015.

MAHARASHTRA – 587 cases

Anil Desai, Shiv Sena RS MP: Charged with rioting and restraining a public servant in 2011. Chargesheet filed, recording of evidence ongoing.

Kirit Somaiya, BJP MP: Booked in 2007 under Bombay Police Act; chargesheet filed.

Nitin Gadkari, Union Minister: Faces charges in criminal case registered in 2008, plus another. Both are pending his appearance.

Devendra Fadnavis, Chief Minister: Faces multiple criminal charges which are pending his appearance. This includes voluntarily causing hurt by dangerous weapons, illegal payments during elections.

Hansraj Ahir, MoS (Home): Several cases across Maharashtra of criminal intimidation, abetting mutiny, being member of an unlawful assembly, since early 2000.

Abu Azmi, Samajwadi Party MLA: Was booked for unlawful assembly and wrongful restraint, among other charges in 2011. Case under investigation.

GUJARAT – 113 cases

Madhusudan Mistry, Rajya Sabha MP: Criminal case in 2014 for publishing defamatory pamphlets against PM Narendra Modi. Investigations are over; prosecution has sought daily hearings.

Shankersinh Vaghela, former CM: Faces CBI probe in alleged NTC land scam; he was Union Textiles Minister. Criminal case registered against him in 2011 in Gujarat; court has not taken cognizance of report filed by prosecution.

Kandhalbhai Sarmanbhai Jadeja, NCP MLA: Booked under TADA; charges framed; last hearing was in May 2015.

Nitinkumar Patel, BJP MLA: Case of wrongful restraint, intentional insult to provoke, and breach of peace filed in 2007-08. Charges framed; case at evidence stage as of 2015.

Chhotubhai Vasava, JD(U) MLA: Many cases related to unlawful assembly, disobedience of public servant, destruction of public property, from 1993-94 onward. Most are in the trial stage.

Rajeshbhai Chudasama, BJP MP: Case of molestation, dishonest misappropriation of property, etc. registered in 2010. Charges are yet to be framed; last hearing was in 2015.

Parshottambhai Solanki, BJP MLA: Special criminal appeal pending before High Court. Last hearing in July 2015. Charges of voluntarily causing grievous hurt, criminal intimidation, etc. Vithalbhai Hansraj Radadia, BJP MP: Several cases of causing grievous hurt, culpable homicide not amounting to murder, since 1998.

KARNATAKA – 94 Cases

B S Yeddyurappa, former CM: Case of cheating, criminal conspiracy and corruption registered in 2010 on the basis of private complaint. Court is recording evidence.

H D Kumaraswamy, former CM: Case registered in 2012 under Prevention of Corruption Act and Karnataka Land Restriction & Transparency Act, 1991. Hearing ongoing.

D K Shivakumar, Congress MLA: Case registered in 2012 under PC Act and Karnataka Land Restriction & Transparency Act. Appeal pending in Supreme Court.

M Veerappa Moily, Congress MP: 2014 case of disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant; chargesheet filed.

Prathap Simha, BJP MP: 2014 case under Section 125 of RP Act; chargesheet filed.

B Sreeramulu, BJP MP: 2012 case, Religious Institutions (Prevention of Misuse) Act, 1988; chargesheet filed.


N Chandrababu Naidu, AP Chief Minister: Arrested in Dharmabad in Maharashtra’s Nanded district in 2010 for unlawful assembly. Case was last heard in court of Judicial Magistrate First Class, Dharmabad on February 20, 2015.

K Chandrashekar Rao, Telangana Chief Minister: FIR registered in Gajwel, Medak district, in 2015, for unlawful assembly, assault or criminal force to deter public servant from discharge of duty. Investigations are on.

Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, MLA, AP: FIR on charges of criminal intimidation, defacement of public property; High Court stayed investigation in October 2011. Also faces CBI and ED investigation.


Mukhtar Ansari, BSP MLA: The don faces multiple charges of murder, attempt to murder, rioting, criminal intimidation, and under UP Gangster Act. Trials ongoing.

Ajay Rai, Congress MLA: Varanasi strongman charged with attempt to murder, disobedience of public servant, grievous hurt, etc. Trial on, last hearing in 2015.

Sushil Singh, BJP MLA: Nephew of don Brajesh Singh; faces charges of criminal intimidation, wrongful confinement. Cases in trial stage.

ASSAM – 36 Cases

Tarun Gogoi, Former CM: FIR filed by one Vijay Pandey in 2014 accusing Gogoi of ordering police and CRPF to drag people from homes and attempt to kill them. Case pending further investigation.

Badruddin Ajmal, Lok Sabha MP: FIR registered in 2006 for bribery and other charges; trial under way.

Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP MLA: Accused of inciting violence and provocative speech against his Congress rival; case pending investigation.


Pema Khandu, Chief Minister: Charges of cheating and under the PC Act. Case under investigation.


Virbhadra Singh, Chief Minister: Faces CBI and ED cases for disproportionate assets; properties, bank accounts and fixed deposits were attached recently.

Prem Kumar Dhumal, former CM: He and son Anurag Thakur, MP, named in multiple cases of PC Act, forgery, and cheating; Supreme Court stayed trial proceedings in 2015.


Harak Singh Rawat, BJP MLA: 2012 case of rioting, criminal intimidation, etc. Prosecution has appealed to Nainital High Court against his discharge by the lower court. Case last heard in November 2014.

PUNJAB – 1 Case

S. Tota Singh, SAD MLA: Charges of cheating, criminal conspiracy and corruption. Case pending; several adjournments until 2015.

HARYANA – 6 Cases

Subhash Barala, BJP MLA: Father of Vikas Barala, prime accused in the recent Chandigarh stalking case, faces charges of disobedience to order duly promulgated by public servant under IPC Section 188. Case not yet in court.

Kuldeep Bishnoi, Congress MLA: 2014 case based on complaint of beating by INLD worker Krishna Kumar.

Add Comment

Business | Computers | Health | Other | Recreation | Shopping | Society | Sports |